Wednesday, May 5, 2010

Young Reader's Choice Award (Pacific Northwest)

Purpose -Young Reader's Choice Award winners are chosen by the children and young adults of Alberta, British Columbia, Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Montana, and Washington. There are three divisions, Junior (grades 4-6), Intermediate (grades 7-9) and Senior (grades 10-12). The book must be published in the previous three years. Books are nominated by teachers, librarians, students and parents.
History -First awarded in 1940, it is the oldest children's choice award in the U.S or Canada. A senior division was added in 1991 recognizing books for grades 10-12. The award was created by Seattle bookseller Harry Hartman who believed every child should be able to choose a book that pleased him or her.

Facts -
* Administered by the Pacific Northwest Library Association.
*Many styles of writing are considered - fiction, non-fiction, graphic novels, animae and manga.
*A person must be in grades 4-12 and have read at least two of the nominated books in order to vote and live in the above states or provinces.
*Books must be 3 years old and published in the U.S. or Canada*Voting takes place between March 15 - April 15 with winners announced in mid-April.
*No awards were given between 1953-1955 or 1973.

Recent winner - 2013Junior - The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan
Middle - Smile by Raina Telgemeir
Senior - Crazy by Han Nolan

No comments:

Post a Comment