Friday, May 21, 2010

Jane Addams Book Award

Purpose - This annual award is given to books for children that promote peace, monority group equality, world issues, and equality for both men and women.

History - This was the fourth children's book award created in the United States. It was first awarded in 1953.
Originally, the award was given to one book per year, but in 1993 a picture book category was added so the award now goes to two books per year. Honor books are also selected. The award is named for Jane Addams who won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1931. She was also the first woman to with this prize.

Facts -
*Books may be poetry,fiction, or nonfiction.
*Winners receive certificates as well as a cash prize.
*Adminstered by The Women's International League for Peace and Freedom (WILPF) and the Jane Addams Peace Association.

Recent winners - Each Kindness by Jacqueline Woodson and We've Got a Job by Cynthia Levinson.

No comments:

Post a Comment