Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Michael L. Printz Award

Purpose - The Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature is given to the best book written for young adult audiences based on literary merit. These can include fiction, nonfiction, poetry, anthology, or joint authors/editors. The books may be published in another country, but must be published in the United States the previous year.

History -This award was created in 1999 and first awarded in 2000. Michael L. Printz was a teacher/librarian from Topeka, KS who was known for promoting great books to teens and young adults. Mr. Printz believed that all young adults could be engaged learners. He was a member of YALSA and died in 1996.

*Administered by YALSA. Sponsored by Booklist magazine.
*Up to four book can be named Honor Books.
*For a glimpse at all the background rules for the committee, click here.
*Gary Paulsen dedicated his book The Island to Michael Printz.

Recent winner- - Midwinter Blood by Marcus Sedgwick

No comments:

Post a Comment