Sunday, May 9, 2010

Geisel Award

Everyone loves Dr. Seuss! On Dr. Seuss Day, March 2, maybe you could read one of the winning books!

Purpose -The Geisel Award is a yearly award recognizing the author(s) and/or illustrator(s) of the best beginning reader book that was published in the previous year. The winners are chosen for showing creativity and imagination, therefore engaging young children in reading.

History -This fairly new award, first given in 2006, is named after Theodor Suess Geisel (Dr. Seuss) who was born in 1904 and wrote at least 49 books. The award was created in 2004 and books nominated for the first award were published in 2005.

Facts -
*Theodor Geisel's books have been translated into at least 15 languages.
*Over 200 million of his books have been sold.
*He died in 1991 and seven years later, on March 2, 1998, the first National Read Across America Day was held. It is sponsored by the National Education Association and honors the birthdate of Theodor Geisel.

Recent winner -Watermelon Seed written and illustrated by Greg Pizzoli

No comments:

Post a Comment