Sunday, May 16, 2010

Coretta Scott King Award

Purpose - The Coretta Scott King Awards (CSK) are for outstanding children's books written and illustrated by African American authors and illustrators. Winning books promote the understanding of cultures of all people and their desire to attain the American dream. Winning books must encourage children to seek their own identity and be responsible citizens. The awards commemorate the life of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and Mrs. King's desire to work for peace.

History -The idea for the award came in 1969 from librarians Glyndon Greer and Mabel McKissick who noticed that African American authors and illustrators were not getting noticed in the children's book world. The first award for writing was given in 1970 and for illustrating, in 1974. Coretta (1927-2006) married Martin Luther King, Jr. in 1953 and they were very involved in the civil rights movement.

Facts -
*Administered by the Coretta Scott King Committee of the Ethnic & Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table, part of the ALA.
*Must be written or illustrated by an African American.
*Must portray a part of the African American experience.
*Must be published in the United States in the previous year.
*Another award was created in 1993, first called the Genesis Award, then changed to the New Talent Award, and finally the John Steptoe Award for New Talent.
*Britannica donates encyclopedias to the author winners. Beginning in 2005, a plaque was also presented and Johnson Publications added a $1000 prize. Illustrator winners are given $1000 by Book Wholesalers and World Book donates encyclopedias.

Recent winner- Rita Williams-Garcia won the author award for P.S Be Eleven.
Bryan Collier won the award for best illustrator. He illustrated Knock Knock,
written by Daniel Beatty, .

No comments:

Post a Comment