Saturday, May 15, 2010

Golden Kite Award

Purpose - The Golden Kite Award is awarded annually in recognition of excellence in children's literature in four categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Picture Book Text, and Picture Book Illustration.

History - Begun in 1973, this award is the only one judged by a jury of peers.

Facts -
*Administered by the Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators (SCBWI).
*One must be a member of SCBWI in order to win the award.
*Over 1000 books are submitted each year.
*Winners receive a certificate and a cash prize of $2,500.

Recent winner - Me and Momma and Big John by Mara Rockliff for picture book text. See other winners by clicking the link.

No comments:

Post a Comment