Thursday, May 20, 2010

Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal

Purpose -Every two years, the Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal is given to an author or illustrator whose work has made a "substantial and lasting contribution" (ALA).

History - The first award was given to Laura Ingalls Wilder (1867-1957) herself in 1954 for her great accomplishments in writing for children. From 1960-1980, the medal was given every five years. From 1980-2001, every three years an award was given. Now, since 2001, the award is given every two years. Laura Ingalls Wilder is best known for her Little House books and won the Newberry Honor Award for five of her books. Winners of the medal must have more than one book published and the author's work must be available for at least 10 years before receiving the prize.

Facts -
*Administered by the ALSC.
*Books must be published in the United States, but can be previously published in another country.

Recent winner - The 2013 winner is
Katherine Paterson whose books include Bridge to Terabithia, The Great Gilly Hopkins, and The King's Equal.

No comments:

Post a Comment