Sunday, May 23, 2010

Newbery Medal

The children's award that started them all - the Newbery Medal.

Purpose -The Newbery Medal is awarded to a book considered "the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children" (children being those up to the age of 14)(Newbery & Caldecott Awards, 1).

History -This was the first children's book award ever created. It was started in 1922 by Fredric G. Melcher. It is named for John Newbery, an 18th-century English bookseller.

Facts -
*The author must be a citizen or resident of the United States.
*The books considered are published in the previous year only.
*At one time, the committee decided both the Newbery and Caldecott Medal winners. In 1978, separate committees were created, one for each of the awards.
*Compilations and reprints are not allowed, but poetry, nonfiction, and fiction are all considered.
*Fifteen people serve on the committee to chose the winner.
*Books are marked with a gold-foil seal.

Recent winner - Flora & Ulysses by Kate DiCamillo

No comments:

Post a Comment